Have something to brag about? Tell us at dysonnews@pace.edu!


Ralph M. Crystal ’70, BA Psychology, was selected by the National Council on Rehabilitation Education for the 2020 Distinguished Career in Rehabilitation Education Award.

Mary-Lynn Hearn ’19, BA Political Science, delivered a statement to the United Nations General Assembly First Committee, also known as the Disarmament and International Security Committee, urging youth involvement on nuclear disarmament.

Gloria Heffernan ’81, BA English, has had her book, What the Gratitude List Said to the Bucket List, published by New York Quarterly Books (2019).

Mellison Arguson ’19, BA Communication Studies, received a Fulbright-National Geographic Storytelling Fellowship. “The Fulbright scholarship will allow me to explore the plastic pollution crisis in the Philippines and how it disproportionately affects people living in poverty,” Arguson said. “I am Filipino American, and by carrying out research in the Philippines, I hope to become closer to my culture and use what I’ve learned throughout my education and professional experiences to help the country address its plastics crisis, and also the world’s plastic pollution crisis at large.”

Taslim Tavarez ’18, BA Political Science, was selected as a Schwarzman Scholar, class of 2020–21. The prestigious program was established by business leader and philanthropist Stephen A. Schwarzman and launched in 2016 to provide the world’s top students with academic, leadership, and networking opportunities.


Economics student Brooke Jefferds ’20 moderated a live Q and A with alumna and CNN business and politics correspondent Cristina Alesci ’01, BS Criminal Justice. The digital event was organized by Pace University’s Office of Development and Alumni Relations.

Biology major Adonis Miliano ’20 founded Pace University’s Dominican Student Association (DSA), which aims to teach Pace students about Dominican culture and history.


Anthony Mancini, PhD, was appointed chief editor of the Anxiety, Stress & Coping journal. The associate professor of psychology previously served as associate editor of the publication.

Department of Environmental Studies and Science Anne Toomey, PhD, and Monica Palta, PhD, coauthored a letter along with an international group of colleagues calling for support of a diversity, equity, and inclusion focus to combat the disproportionate impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. It was published in the journal Nature Ecology & Evolution.

Associate Professor of Biology Erika Crispo, PhD, received a $28,495 Research Opportunity Award from the National Science Foundation to study the biological diversity of horned lizards in the southwestern United States. A collaboration with CUNY, “the goal of the work is to identify new species, and to develop tools for conservation and management of these species,” Crispo said.

Faculty Awards

Assistant Professor of Psychology Brenna Hassinger-Das, PhD,
received the 2020 Award for Research Excellence by Early Career Psychologists from the New York
State Psychological Association.

Professor and Chair of the New York Department of English Erica Johnson, PhD, was awarded a spring 2021 fellowship from the Camargo Foundation in France, which fosters study of French and Francophone cultures and the arts.

Paul Levitz, an adjunct professor in the Department of Publishing, was inducted into the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame for his iconic work as a writer, editor, and executive of DC Comics (2002–09).

Professor of Chemistry and Physical Sciences JaimeLee Rizzo, PhD, received the Outstanding Four- Year Undergraduate College and University Chemistry Faculty Teaching Award for 2019 from the New York Section of the American Chemical Society.

Farewell Setters

We send our best wishes to these dedicated faculty on their retirement!

Mary Alberi, 40 years of service, associate professor, history
Anne Bynoe, 21 years of service, associate professor, economics
Nicholas Catalano, 56 years of service, professor, English and modern language studies
Edgar Ducasse, 42 years of service, professor, mathematics
Steven Goldleaf, 30 years of service, professor, English
Michael Kazlow, 40 years of service, associate professor, mathematics

George Pappas, 51 years of service, assistant professor, English and modern language studies
Mitchell Preiss, 42 1/2 years of service, professor, mathematics
Yvonne Rafferty, 27 years of service, professor, psychology
Shannon Young, 21 years of service, associate professor, English and modern language studies