Row of people sitting at desk with microphones at the United Nations

Throughout the fall semester, a number of Dyson students participated in events at the United Nations headquarters in Manhattan. A connection with the UN has become a mainstay in Dyson, through coursework in departments such as Peace and Justice Studies and Political Science, as well as through unique extracurricular programs such as the United Nations Academic Impact and Millennium Campus Network Fellowship.

Lulu Okeke digital name plate at UNAs part of the United Nations Millennium Fellowship, Lulu Okeke ’24, Global Studies, represented Pace at an Academic Impact panel session at UN Day called “Higher Education and Multilateralism: Academia Responding to Global Challenges,” with the discussion focused on the relationship between higher education and the United Nations. Okeke also sat on a second panel that day with fellow students to speak about her Millennium Fellowship project, an initiative to uplift girls and women around the world through letter writing.

Taylor Mangus sitting at desk at UNTaylor Mangus ’23 (pictured at the right), Political Science, was featured on a panel on “Disarmament Education as a Solution to Peace” at the United Nations as part of the #Leaders4Tomorrow event. Mangus was joined on the panel by leaders such as Chair of the UN General Assembly First Committee Ambassador Mohan Pieris of Sri Lanka and Ambassador Thomas Goebel, Permanent Representative of Germany to the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva.

Molly Rosaaen ’22 (pictured at the top of the page), Political Science and Women’s and Gender Studies, delivered a statement to the UN General Assembly First Committee (Disarmament and International Security), calling for “new momentum for disarmament” and “meaningful inclusion of youth—particularly from marginalized communities.” The statement—written on behalf of 62 supporting organizations—was drafted by Dyson College students Nora Bajor ’26, Political Science; Joey Gottlieb ’25, English Language and Literature; Antje Hipkins ’23, Peace and Justice Studies; Julia Morrison ’26, Political Science; and Arnold Okyere ’24, Political Science, with support from Professor of Political Science Matthew Bolton, PhD, and Associate Professor of Peace and Justice Studies Emily Welty, PhD, the directors of Dyson’s Disarmament Institute.