Pace Academic Teams Triumph

Three student teams continued a tradition of excellence at national events.

Federal Reserve Challenge

The Federal Reserve Challenge Team, all Dyson economics majors, claimed victory at the 14th annual national College Fed Challenge in Washington, D.C. The students bested competition from institutions such as Harvard University and Princeton University in their understanding of the US economy, monetary policy-making, and the role of the Federal Reserve System. Team leaders were co-captains Salil Ahuja ’19, Klejdja Qosja ’18, and Marina Testani ’18, and participants included Carly Aznavorian ’19, Scarlett Bekus ’20, and alternates Alexandra Bruno ’20 and Argenys Morban ’19. This was Pace’s third win in four years at the prestigious competition. Contrary to a Financial Times report, which noted the low representation of women in the field, five of the seven Pace team members identify as female, making this the most female-dominated team since the University entered the national competition in 2012.

Model UN

Students from the Pleasantville Model United Nations (MUN) team (pictured above) returned from the national MUN conference with a number of awards, including Distinguished Delegation, for their representation of Rwanda. Pace’s New York City students (pictured below) won 11 awards, placing fifth in number of awards received out of more than 100 higher education institutions.

Debating for Democracy

For the second consecutive year, a Pace University student team was one of five national winners in the Debating for Democracy (D4D) Letters to an Elected Official Competition. Sponsored by Project Pericles, a national consortium of colleges and universities, the D4D award went to team members Laurianne Gutierrez ’21, Philosophy and Religious Studies, and David ’19, Advertising and Integrated Marketing Communications, Lubin School of Business, (pictured above R-L) for their letter to Senator Charles Schumer (D-NY), urging him to repeal the Dickey Amendment, which effectively prohibits the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention from funding research on gun control.

Excellence in the Classroom

Several Dyson faculty members across a range of disciplines received honors for their outstanding work and commitment to students.

(Left to right) Marvin Krislov with Spirit of Pace winners JaimeLee Rizzo and Mark Weinstock

Spirit of Pace Award

The Spirit of Pace Award is given to faculty who have had a significant transformative effect on generations of talented and successful students. Many alumni acknowledge these faculty members as having played a key role in their success. Two Dyson professors—JaimeLee Rizzo, assistant chair, Chemistry and Physical Sciences and Mark Weinstock, clinical assistant professor, Economics—received the honor in 2018.

Kenan Award for Teaching Excellence

Each year, exemplary faculty are recognized for their instruction in the classroom. Their students display a high level of understanding and provide pedagogical inspiration for other faculty members. This year, the Office of the Provost honored three outstanding Dyson professors: Marcy Kelly, professor, Biology; Len Mitchell, lecturer, Philosophy and Religious Studies; and Bureen Ruffin, adjunct assistant professor, English.

(Left to right) Kenan Award Winners Marcy Kelly, Bureen Ruffin, and Len Mitchell.

(Left to right) Wilson Faculty Fellows Brice Particelli, Daniel Bender, and Matthew Bolton.

Wilson Faculty Fellows, Pace University

Daniel Bender, associate professor, English; Matthew Bolton, associate chair and associate professor, Political Science; and Brice Particelli, lecturer, English, were all recognized as Wilson Faculty Fellows. Honorees are noted for their research and analysis with students in helping to solve the issues facing nonprofits and social enterprises.

Honoring Academic Excellence

These awards for scholastic achievement were presented to outstanding Dyson College students:

Amgen Scholar at the National Institutes of Health

Christina Ashby ’18, Sociology and Anthropology, received this grant and conducted research on the structure of SLERT, a long non-coding RNA, which promotes tumorigenesis and regulates gene expression.

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship

Hansali Tavarez ’18, Political Science, will study in Vietnam following receipt of this award. Madison Olavarria ’20, Economics and Computer Science, will study in South Korea.

Jeannette K. Watson Fellows

Juliet Mueller ’18, English Language and Literature, and Jessica Duque ’20, Economics, Peace and Justice Studies, each received a Jeannette K. Watson Fellowship.

Pace’s Office for Student Success Seventh Annual Undergraduate Student Faculty Showcase

Connor Wills ’21, Applied Psychology and Human Relations, and Tyler Kalahar, program coordinator, Center for Community Action and Research. The $2,000 award supports their project “Best Practices to Enable Trans & Gender Nonconforming Students to Thrive in Higher Education.”

Kaltrina Mulosmani ’20, Biochemistry, and Rita K. Upmacis, associate professor of Chemistry and Physical Sciences. The $2,000 award supports their project “Synthesis and Characterization of Metal Complexes Containing Nitrogen Ligands.”