Pace Fiscal Challenge Team

Go-getters Earn Third Place in National Competition

The Pace University Fiscal Challenge team placed third in this year’s national Fiscal Challenge competition, where teams of students from around the country devise and defend their own plans for putting (or keeping) the U.S. on a sustainable fiscal path. Pace’s team of achievers was bested only by Notre Dame’s teams, which placed both first and second.

Team members, all economics and business economics majors or economics minors, include Carlton Allison ’22 (captain), Brian Diaz ’22 (captain), Mariam Elzoghby ’24, Sarina Howe ’21, Courtney Koprowicz ’23, Isabelle LaBianco ’22, Silvana Martinaj ’22, Christian Morris ’21, Bujana Mulosmani ’22, Lindsay Varzarevsky ’22, and Marc Gosine (graduate student). Economics faculty Sam Baruch, senior lecturer, and Mark Weinstock, clinical associate professor, served as advisors and Economics alumna Brooke Jefferds ’20 served as advisor.

Left to right: B. Diaz; L. Varzarevsky; B. Mulosmani; I. LaBianco; B. Jefferds; C. Allison; S. Howe; M. Weinstock; J. Morreale, Economics Chair; C. Morris; S. Koprowicz; M. Elzhogby; M. Gosine.

United Nations Millennium Fellowship Winners

Of 15,000 applicants, eight Pace University students across nine distinct degrees were selected to complete a semester-long leadership development program that convenes, challenges, and celebrates student leadership worldwide. Projects focused on sustainable living practices on campus; reducing the university’s carbon footprint; raising awareness about the dangers and proximity of human trafficking in the region; and cultivating relationships between local farms and communities. Congratulations to the Class of 2020 fellows Kendra Cooper-Smith ‘24, Environmental Science, Aissatou Gningue ‘23, Public Accounting/Political Science, Mikayla Martin ‘24, Applied Psychology and Human Relations, Chloe Mayhew ‘23, Global Studies, Annabella Mead- Vancort ‘23, Political Science, Akhila Ramesh ‘23, Communications, Alena Romanova ‘24, Biology, and Jessica Witkowski ‘20, Political Science on this incredible academic achievement.

Pace Chemistry Club Wins Top Honor

The Pace Chemistry Club, New York City campus, has received the top honor of “Outstanding Student Chapter” for 2019–20 by the American Chemical Society. This represents a second win of this title for the organization, which hosts different activities that help students apply chemistry to the real world, such as guest speaker invitations, tours to local points of scientific interest, and the opportunity to present at the annual Undergraduate Research Symposium and participate in National Chemistry Week.